There was a problem loading the comments.

cPanel Account Migration Procedure

Support Portal  »  Knowledgebase  »  Viewing Article

  Print

Incoming From Another Hosting Company

1) Go to cPanel -> Backups -> Download or Generate a Full Website Backups, set the email to yours so that you are receive a notification when done.

2) When done, please check the backup file size with the actual hosting size, it should be 20-40% smaller, but not too small. If is too small, it could be a problem. Check the log file that sent to you. It might not completed.

3) Move the backup file to public_html/ and chmod to 644.

4) Go to SSH (our server),

#cd /home/

#wget http://domain.com/backup-file-name.tar.gz

Once download completed

#/scripts/restorepkg username

5) Once done, compare the restored size with the old hosting account, it might be 1-2% lesser or same.

6) Update billing if the username has changed. Change the package to his subscribed package.

7) Update the DNS or inform customer to update.

 

Migration between our servers or from a Dedicated Server or VPS

A) If the size is large >1GB

1) SSH into source server

2) /scripts/pkgacct --skiphomedir username

3) This will backup the account without homedir

4) scp -P 55000 /home/backupfilename.tar.gz [email protected]:/home/

5) SSH into destination server

6) /scripts/restorepkg username

7) Once done, go back to source server's SSH

8) rsync back the homedir to destination server

#rsync -avzp -e 'ssh -p 55000' /home/username/ [email protected]:/home/username/

9) DO NOT terminate the old account yet, only do it after one day make sure customer 100% sure data is migrated properly and another thing is DNS propagation.

10) Update billing to change the server allocation in WHMCS.

11) After one day, terminate the old hosting account at old server. Please make sure you "tick" -> Keep DNS Zone, if not, the DNS zone will be deleted from our cluster and causing site to down.

B) If the size is small <1GB

1) You can use WHM server to server migration

2) Go to WHM -> Copy Multiple Accounts/Packages From Another Server -> key in the source server info and Select Fetch Account List

3) Select desired account to be tranfered.

4) After that just wait for the transfer to be completed.

5) DO NOT terminate the old account yet, only do it after one day make sure customer 100% sure data is migrated properly and another thing is DNS propagation.

6) Update billing to change the server allocation in WHMCS.

7) After one day, terminate the old hosting account at old server. Please make sure you "tick" -> Keep DNS Zone, if not, the DNS zone will be deleted from our cluster and causing site to down.


Share via
Did you find this article useful?  

Related Articles

© ServerFreak Technologies Sdn Bhd